Downsizing and letting go

There is something oddly appealing about homewares. I can spend many an hour wandering through stores, looking at beautiful objects I could fill my home with.

What I do not normally do, is buy these things. I like to think I live sensibly and do not have much more than I need. There are a few items of clothes that hang in my wardrobe, not worn for many years but holding such strong memories. My bookshelf is filled, an accumulation over years of study and enthusiastic reading. There are a pile of platters in my pantry, and plenty of baking gear for numerous occasions. I do enjoy these items, however, and I am happy to have them in my home.

Things are about to change through, and reading another blogย the other day inspired me to think a little more about what is coming. The big downsize. Following our wedding, my new husband and I are going to get rid of a large pile of stuff, pack our life back down to the bare necessities, then head off on a bit of an adventure. The idea of the end result excites me, the getting there does not.

It is going to be a tough challenge selling and giving away so many of my possessions. In the end, I think it’s going to be a good move and I will enjoy the results of being mobile for a little longer. My intention is to blog about the process, and maybe what I learn about letting go may just help someone else.

Credit to Curiously, Wes for the inspiration for this blog.

7 thoughts on “Downsizing and letting go

  1. I’ve been meaning to downsize myself in 2015, but I didn’t get rid off as many things as I’d have liked. It’s difficult, letting go of things you’ve had for a long tim, so I know what you mean. Looking forward to see how you get on with it โ€“ I hope it will inspire me ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks! I’m looking forward to it really, just can see how I’m going to struggle at times. I think a little bit, done often is usually the best way – but we will be doing it all in a month! Let’s see how that goes ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I read Wes’s entry and was so encouraged to clean out some of he bulk I’ve collected over the past few years. we have moved a couple times so I don’t have as much as most but I still have more than I need. I am very thankful for that but it’s time to clean out!
    after reading your entry I feel like you are living a life I would love! it’s my dream to own a “Little” House. so why not prepare now?! I’m excited to read your future posts. good luck to you!

    Like

    1. I love a spot of clearing out the excess. Especially if a new home can be found for items. Good luck on your dream to own a ‘Little House’ – I’m sure the earlier the start, the better!

      Like

  3. Good for you! I know it’s tough, letting go of so much. But trust me, once your home and lives are less cluttered, it will be like a huge deep breath of fresh air.

    Like

Leave a Reply

