Quitting time

I handed in my notice of resignation today. It has been the plan for the last six weeks or so, and today it played out. I was only in the job since the middle of last year, moving first into a secondment role, then securing a permanent position. It was a move in the direction I wanted to go, provided a new challenge and looked to put skills into action that I had refined during my recent studies.

So why quit? The driving reason was a sense of adventure that I have always had. Travel has been something I have craved for as long as I can remember. It’s an odd rite of passage for many in New Zealand. Given how far we are away from the rest of the world, we are drawn to travel somewhat inexplicably. The cost is huge, so we save up and really do it properly – often for months at a time. That is what we are going to do. In April we head to the United States for a three month road trip, the first time I’ve been back since 2011. We are going to explore the country, starting from San Francisco and meandering our way east. As an American politics geek, I’m excited to be in the country as decisions are made about the Presidential candidates, moving through different parts of the country and understanding what politics means in the local context. Then there’s the food… Oh, I know some of it is soo bad, but I am hanging out for a Chipotle burrito, or a PotBelly sandwich!

There’s another reason for quitting. It’s about being brave and acknowledging that my job is not the one for me. The technical nature of it just pains me at times, and I feel uninspired. I know I’m in a privileged position, as I can actually take some time out this year and reflect on what I want to do with the rest of my life. Writing is how I best express myself, and I love to play with words and see how they form sentences, paragraphs, and pages of thoughts. Painting a picture through a character in voice, or a story in action. It’s fun and I want to take some time to see where I can go with it. Can I create a story and explore it in depth? Actually write more than a short story, perhaps find my voice in a novel. Everyone thinks they have a book in them, perhaps I really do? So, this is my first outlet for those words. I am going to use this blog to explore my thoughts and record my year.

Here’s to another adventure. Quitting my job, packing my bags and escaping life for a few months. Where will it lead, and what will I do next – who knows?

5 thoughts on “Quitting time

  1. Enjoy your travels through the US.

    If you research WordPress their are a number of travel bloggers that full time in an RV, touring the Northern States/Canada during the warmer months and southern states in winter. You can find some excellent travel info.

    We have a number of fellow travel bloggers listed on our blog, each of which have numerous others listed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

