Nurturing self-belief

A-GRAD-5
Graduation day. Photo credit: Emma Brittenden Photography http://emmabrittenden.co.nz

I am supremely lucky. Growing up, I never questioned my belief in myself. I knew I could achieve if I focused on something. This has translated in a drive to take opportunities when they presented themselves to me, and allowed me to work in areas that I am in many ways under-qualified for. Whilst the subject matter can be one I am totally unfamiliar with, the self-belief means that I have faith in the skills I have acquired and my ability to adapt them to the challenge at hand.

In many ways, this is a self-lead endeavour. I have had to do the hard yards to up-skill and be prepared to adapt. However, my luck comes from being a part of a family environment which gave me the courage to push forward. My parents supported me when I had big ideas. They believed in me, either to achieve what I wanted, or to figure out on my own that I needed to redirect and reflect. Through each decision, they have offered a safe place to talk through ideas, or a soft place to land if it backfired. The result is that, in more than a decade since I left my parent’s home (apart from one year when I decided to study so moved into the spare room), I have achieved more than I imagined I could and done things I had never contemplated. Through travelling, working and studying, I quite happily carved out my own little part of the world. As I plot the next steps, I have the belief embedded in me. I might be scared at times, but in the end I know it will be just fine.

A Daily Prompt – Reason to Believe

10 thoughts on “Nurturing self-belief

  1. How lovely for you, such nice way to put it “A safe place to land <3" As a mother to 5 I hoped that I did that for my kids, unfortunately it doesn't always have that happy of an ending. The ending hasn't happened yet for a couple of my kids, but the middle of the story has been quite a rocky road !!! I guess as a mom, I'm happy that they are independent thinkers however and that is a big however their lives did not have to have so much collateral damage linked to it. Oh never mind about all that. My two youngest are professional ballet dancer's out in Virginia and it is because of me and their dad they can follow their dreams because they always know that they too have a safety zone… Blessings ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I really feel that sums it up best, and it is nice having that back up. Has certainly made me more adventurous than I might have otherwise been!

      Like

      1. It’s also good that you didn’t abuse that blessing. Parents have a really hard balancing act. Too much or not enough…Sometimes it is a no win situation. In that case, you just have to let it go. It’s time to fly ❤

        Like

  2. This is a very uplifting post! Yes, our parents play very important roles in our lives. I, too, am blessed to have parents who are very supportive and encouraging. May you achieve more things in life. I wish you all the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

